Author Topic: Johan Defarfalla - wywiad  (Read 27201 times)

0 Members i 1 Go¶æ przegl±da ten w±tek.

vertigo

• Global Moderathor
Johan Defarfalla - wywiad
« on: 2007-02-17, 14:38:28 »
Dla niezorientowanych, na oficjalnym forum ukaza³ siê wywiad z Johanem Defarfalla. Jest ca³kiem fajny wiêc pozwolê sobie go tu wkleiæ ;]

First of all, please tell us about your musical activities.

-At what age did you start playing?
I started playing when I was 9 years old in a punkband that I started with a couple of friends. First concert that same year and then concerts as often as possible.

-Did you ever play any other instruments?
My main instrument has always been the bassguitar but I also sing, play guitar and some piano.

-Did you ever aspire to be a professional musician?
Of course. I’ve been professional musician off and on and played in a lot of different projects and bands.

-What are your influences as a musician? What were they when you played in Opeth?
As a bassplayer; No 1. JS Bach, the one and only, the cello suites are incredible as well as the rest of his work. No 2. Jaco Pastorius, true musician. No 3. Steve Harris from Iron Maiden, just got to love him, lot of energy. No4, 5, 6 etc Les Claypool, Jonas Hellborg, John Patitucci, Ola Johansson and many more.
As a musician; No 1 JS Bach, who else? No 2 Shostakovich. And many more

Then, in 1991, you were joining Opeth. We heard from David they needed a bassplayer and guitarist for the gig in Gothenburg and you and Kim Petterson joined them. We know you played in a band called Crimson Cat at the time.

-Did you ever release anything with that band?
Yes, we released two tapes, 1989 and 1990.

-Was it a sleeze metal band, as someone said?
Yes it was.

Some sources say you weren't really into metal at the time, so what's the story about that?